2nd batches of soap and lotion

I cut the second batch of soap today and it looks much better than the first, no cracks and it wasn’t so soft. We will see how it ages.
DSC00402

DSC00401

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are both batches in the makeshift “curing device” πŸ™‚
DSC00405

 

 

 

 

 

For my second batch of lotion I did a bit of reading and decided on more of a cream or body butter, it worked out much better I think. I used shea butter, and our beeswax in equal measures, a small amount of Jojoba oil and some of our honey.
DSC00408
It mixed up very thick, very, very thick. I was far to messy to take a picture unfortunately.

The main challenge I am having is filtering the beeswax, it is taking forever to melt it in a container in the double boiler and then strain it. I would love a better idea!
DSC00407

The cream turned out lovely but cleaning up the greasy mess is quite the adventure. I am sure I will come up with some shortcuts and tricks as I go along.
DSC00412

This entry was posted in Beeswax, Soap & Lotions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2nd batches of soap and lotion

  1. That soap looks good enough to spread on toast. It must smell very sweet with the honey and beeswax.

  2. shirehouse says:

    Sometimes this stuff does look like food, and it smells so good. πŸ™‚

  3. shirehouse says:

    Thanks! Much better than the first batch.

Leave a Reply

