Back to work and a new project

I am going to be reentering the work world in a few weeks, it will be quite an adjustment but I really do need to get back to my career and spending the day with people. I am so grateful that I was able to take this break and get things up and running with the business and spend time concentrating on “home and hearth”.

I am hoping that once I get back into the craziness I will be able to keep myself motivated to find the time to do the things that keep me balanced as well as keeping the laundry from piling up. 🙂

Steve and I were talking about that last night and about how much I LOVE to cook and bake, especially old recipes. One of the many things I would love to be is a domestic historian…ah to be young enough to just start over. On that note, to keep me motivated to make time to do the things I love, Steve came up with a great idea. Based on the book Julie and Julia, which was not the greatest but a fabulous idea, I am going to embark on a similar adventure.

Anyone who knows me knows I love British cooking, and feel it is unfairly maligned. If you think you hate it, you just have not had dinner here at Shirehouse. One of my favorite books is “Seven Centuries of English Cooking”
http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1251784.Seven_Centuries_of_English_Cooking

1251784

Another one I like is “Taste of Anglo Saxon England” http://www.amazon.com/Tastes-Anglo-Saxon-England-Mary-Savelli/dp/1898281289

51PT74R80BL._SY300_

So I am going to cook my way through them, it is going to take a while, but I am really looking forward to the adventure. Steve has said he will try anything I make, which is brave because some of those 14th century recipes are a bit scary and others are more than a little dull. What will be really cool is to be able to use our own honey, eggs, rabbit, and produce and lamb and pork from friends farms so it will be as locally sourced as I can possibly get it.

Let the culinary adventure begin!

This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking, Homesteading, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Back to work and a new project

  1. foodallday says:

    I wish you the best and one day I wish i that my life revolves about food only.

  2. foodallday says:

    Reblogged this on Food Incorporated and commented:
    Old English food recipes

  3. I can’t wait to hear about all of your adventures! Please post the ones that work and what fails!! It’s almost as much fun to read about culinary MIS-adventures 🙂 Have you seen “The Virginia Housewife”? http://www.gutenberg.org/files/12519/12519-h/12519-h.htm It’s the first recipe book done by a woman in the United States. And being from Virginia I find it particularly interesting! I’ve also thought about doing something similar with this book but balk at some of the ingredients (snapping turtle, calf’s head, jelly from feet). I wish you the best of luck and can’t wait to read more!

  4. shirehouse says:

    I have heard of that one but not read it. There are definitely some “interesting” ingredients involved, it will be fun procuring them. 🙂

  5. tanglethorne says:

    I SO love the cover of the Seven Centuries book!

  6. shirehouse says:

    Isn’t it cool? There is so much going on in there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

