Get back into the swing of things

Tomorrow is my first day back at work, I am excited and a bit apprehensive, how on earth am I going to get everything done? I used to do it, but damn. The meal plan is made and shopping is done. Making yogurt right now for the week but I didn’t get to the bread and there is no more “I can do it tomorrow” we actually had so buy a loaf. Next weekend is the Mad-City Chicken Coop Tour so I may not get to it next week either. I am sure I will get back into the flow, maybe make that slow rise bread I have been reading so much about.

Made lamb stock out of all the lamb bones that I have been chucking into the freezer for the past few months, it turned out really rich and flavorful. I am freezing 1/4 cup portions using a muffin tin, I should have about 10 or 12 cups by the time I am through. That will be nice to have in the freezer.

lamb stock "bits" after straining.  Chicken treat.

lamb stock “bits” after straining. Chicken treat.

Lamb bones post stock making

Lamb bones post stock making

Lamb stock goodness

Lamb stock goodness

pouring the lamb Stock into molds

pouring the lamb Stock into molds

molds of lamb stock in the freezer

molds of lamb stock in the freezer

Tonight is Recipe #2 in the Seven Centuries of English Cooking Challenge. Chicken with Gooseberries or Grapes (Hannah Wolley, 1664) unfortunately there were no Gooseberries to be found so I will be using grapes.

The rabbit is still “out for service”, hopefully we will be getting her back next week, pregnant. Fingers crossed.

This entry was posted in Chickens, Cooking & Baking, Homesteading, Life, Livestock, Rabbits, Seven Centuries of English Cooking Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get back into the swing of things

  1. The Belmont Rooster says:

    OH, that looks AWESOME!!! When is dinner ready?

Leave a Reply

