Working off the farm and finally Recipe #2 results

First old business, the Chicken with Gooseberries or Grapes (Hannah Wolley, 1664) was very good. I think it would have been better if I had had the Gooseberries, but it did have a really interesting flavor, very medieval…well Restoration I guess but it still had a medieval flavor with the mace and cider vinegar.

Sauce for Recipe #2

The sauce- chicken stock, white wine, egg yolks, grapes and cider vinegar.

Recipe #2

Finished dinner with homemade mead because, well you just have to don’t you? 😉

I think this weekend I will pick another recipe, maybe a dessert…although I DO still have that eel in the freezer.

The doe is using all her hay to line the nest box, while it is a waste of good eating hay, it is a really good sign that we should have kits in the next week. Hopefully it won’t be too hot, it has been in the low 80’s so lets hope it stays at or below that for a while.

All but one of the red raspberries have new leaves, so looks like the hedgerow project is a success so far. The elderberry bushes have not sprouted yet, but they did go in almost 2 weeks later than everything else.

The celeriac doesn’t seem to have sprouted, nor two of the three winter squash, but other than that the garden is going strong. Made a coffee butter soap, I can’t wait until I can try that one, it smells really nice.

I am getting adjusted to being back to work, I love being back with my old colleagues, and doing something I enjoy, but it is tiring getting used to everything again. So far menu planning is going well, I would say 80% of the time I stick to it, but I won’t lie and tell you the pizza guy hasn’t been by in the past 3 weeks. 🙂

This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking, Gardening, Homesteading, Livestock, Rabbits, Seven Centuries of English Cooking Challenge, Soap & Lotions, Urban Farming and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working off the farm and finally Recipe #2 results

  1. tess says:

    Looooooove the pizza guy.

  2. shirehouse says:

    The pizza guy, the Burrito Drive guy…just wish we had good Chinese. 🙂

Leave a Reply

