Treading Water

I am back into the swing of things at work but the homestead is suffering a bit. The gardens are a bit weedy, I lost my bush beans to rabbits, and we lost the apples and no soap has been made in 2 months. Not dreadful and I need to let go of what I can’t get done. The cooking challenge is temporarily on the back burner as well.

That is all ok…well I am working on letting it be ok. I will be picking up a new buck from Erica at http://emancipationacres.com/ so hopefully the rabbitry will be up and running soon. My hedgerow seems to be taking off, the currents and raspberries are really going strong, the gooseberries seem a bit more fragile and unfortunately the elderberries don’t seem to have made it. I will see what they do in spring and then replace them if they don’t sprout. My potato tower seems to be a success, I am going to dig up one plant and see what we have. The garlic will be ready to harvest in a week or so and my tomatoes are starting to blush.

Canning season will be here soon and I will have to see if I can coax Nan over with her uber canner for a weekend of sauce making in not to long. This is my favorite time of year. Harvest! For the next 3 months we will be eating fresh from the garden, canning, freezing and putting up. Looks like no rabbits to harvest this year but hopefully we will start right away in the early spring.

We spent a lot of July having off farm fun, a trip to the Renaissance Fair with my brothers and sisters in law then a family trip up to Bayfield, WI on the south shore of Lake Superior. I ate fresh caught fish the entire trip. I am feeling more energetic now, maybe I am adapting to the work week finally. I still need to get myself into a home routine, but it is coming together.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Life, Rabbits, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

