Say Hello to George

Our new buck, 2 1/2 month old George

Our new buck, 2 1/2 month old George


Eliza, our fairly new doe, was the first rabbit I ever named. I never planned on naming the rabbits as they are food animals but it just happened. I certainly won’t name the kits, that is just asking for trouble, but George also just ended up with a name.
Like his future mate Eliza he is a Silver Fox rabbit from Erica and Joel over at http://emancipationacres.com/ Hopefully we will be getting Eliza breed from another farm in the next few weeks and we will be going into the winter with at least SOME rabbit in the freezer.

We should have no problem with tomatoes and sauce this year.

The Tomato Jungle

The Tomato Jungle

And to handle all that putting up I finally ordered my dream canner. The All American 921, a 21 quart all aluminum beauty that I have been lusting after for ages. Almost makes me glad I wore out my old canner last season. 🙂

Not sure how this potato experiment is going to end up…

Potatoes?

Potatoes?

Now off to try and find a good cheese recipe that does not need a cheese press and is not mozzarella, I hate kneading that hot “pre-cheese”. Oh and last weeks soap turned out wonderful and smells amazing, the lotion and salt scrub were a hit as well.

This entry was posted in Cheese making, Gardening, Homesteading, Livestock, Rabbits, Soap & Lotions, Urban Farming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Say Hello to George

  1. tess says:

    I agree–always a mistake to name your meat. Except that, growing up, we had an obnoxious, mean rooster we called “Shooster.” I’ve never been so happy to see baked chicken on a plate and say, “Why, hello Shooster.”

  2. ihtreuer says:

    You could always make a Crescenza, it is drained not pressed, and it will be ready to eat tomorrow. I have friends that name their beef cattle, cute names like “steak”, “rump roast” and one little bull they called “Brisket” it doesn’t seem to bother them, but I am not a fan of naming you dinner either.

  3. shirehouse says:

    I will have to look that one up. I ended up not making anything yesterday after all though, the day just got away from me. BTW love you blog!

  4. shirehouse says:

    Thanks!!! Cheese is my next big adventure. I still need to find a good cheese press, your blog looks like it will be a great resource for me.

  5. I made feta a couple of weeks ago that was press and kneading -free. Sounds like you are having a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

