Canning, knitting and Spinning

Wine is bubbling, Perry is ready to be bottled, Pasta sauce is canned and mutton and lamb (from Emancipation Acres) are at the abattoir, wood is stacked and projects are lined up in wait for winter.

The wine from our grapes is fermenting and about ready to be racked and I received a wonderful 10 lbs of windfall pears from a friend that I made into perry (think hard cider but with pears instead of apples).

Perry

Perry

I finished spinning the Shetland samples from my Sheep & Wool class and made a hat using a Shetland lace pattern. It turned out great, the pictures don’t really show the color gradations very well.

Shetland Samples
Samples ready to knit
Shetland lace hat from Shetland spinning class

NZ fleece

NZ fleece

Now I am back to my monster Kiwi fleece but have a goal of finishing it this winter to start a cardi.

Unskirted (for now) Shetland

Unskirted (for now) Shetland


Chickens and fleece

Chickens and fleece

I also picked up some unskirted Shetland fleeces from Emancipation Acres and hope to at least have these skirted, washed and carded by the end of the winter…oh wait I work full time again don’t I?

My tomatoes did much better this year but still not enough. I canned 7 quarts of roasted tomatoes and only got 18 pints of sauce. Had onions, peppers and garlic enough for much much more but that was all the tomatoes. We have a years worth of garlic and a few months of onions. My potato tower got us a whole 8 potatoes! They were amazing, but that definitely needs work next year. The raspberries, rhubarb and currants all look great for heading into winter. I am not as sure about the gooseberries, we will see.

The two older girls just finished their molt and the two youngest are just starting so we are having to supplement with eggs from the Co-op. I was making brownies and cracked two store bought and one homegrown into a bowl…

One of these things is not like the other

One of these things is not like the other

Aside | This entry was posted in Chickens, Cooking & Baking, Gardening, Homesteading, Knitting/Weaving/Spinning, Livestock, Urban Farming, wine making and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Canning, knitting and Spinning

  1. One of these things is indeed not like the other. What a great visual that sums up how wonderful it is to have your own hens. And how rewarding to know you are caring for them so much better and they are healthier and happier than their factory cousins.

  2. tess says:

    The hat looks AWESOME! I love all the natural shades. Is that VM in the Shetland fleece? Yikes!

  3. shirehouse says:

    Thanks! It was a really fun project. Yes it is. I got these from a friend “as is” I needed cheap and didn’t mind the challenge. 🙂

    • tess says:

      I have been working my way through some “as is” Shetland fleeces. After spending months and months hand picking (practically fiber by fiber) and then carding, I discovered the secret to removing embedded junk: combs. Since I can’t afford real combs, I’ve been using dog combs (aka “rakes”). I still comb one lock at a time, but it seems more efficient. I really like Shetland!

  4. shirehouse says:

    Great idea thanks!!! That will make much quicker work of these. 🙂

  5. shirehouse says:

    Thanks for the great tip Tess, it is working like a charm. And much more fun with a friend and some halloween candy to share. 🙂

Leave a Reply

