Still Here

Gardening, bunnies, bees, cooking, baking, farm work.  There you go, 2 months summed up.  The gardens, with the exception of my tomatoes are doing really well, especially the beans.  Everything in my hedgerow is producing except the gooseberries, not a lot, but producing.  The gooseberries look like they are taking hold, much better than last year.  steady mouthfuls of red and black raspberries, a few red currants and a cluster or two of black currants still ripening.  My tomatoes are still teeny, really teeny.  I am hoping they will kick it into gear when the nights get warmer again, it has been cool at night for the past few weeks with the exception of one or two days. 

Made up another big batch of  Chicken stock and canned it and need to do the same with the lamb bones in the freezer, I used the last of the lamb stock last week.  Made a huge batch of strawberry jam a few weeks agoDSC00687 DSC00688 DSC00689

30 half pints of jam, 10 pints of strawberry sauce

30 half pints of jam, 10 pints of strawberry sauce

and in May I canned a few jars of Rhubarb compote.  I absolutely love canning, I know that is insane but I do, especially when I go downstairs and look at all the food on the shelves.  

We have 5 new feeder rabbits having slaughtered our last 5 in June, it is so nice to have rabbit again.  We are going to put off breeding again until September so the does won’t kindle in the worst of the summer heat.

I made my first Victoria Sponge last weekend and it was a hit, I forgot to take a picture of it. I have been doing a lot of cooking and baking, but not from my cooking challenge, I really need to get back to that.

I cast on a new sweater, a cardi for me, and have been knitting washcloths and head bands

cabled headband

cabled headband

for a craft fair I am doing next month.  Made a new batch of Mango butter soap for the fair this week as well.  We will see if I sell anything, if my etsy site is any indication it doesn’t look good.

This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking, Gardening, Homesteading, Knitting/Weaving/Spinning, Soap & Lotions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still Here

  1. tess says:

    Good luck at the craft fair!

  2. shirehouse says:

    Thanks, it will be my first so I am nervous I won’t sell anything.

Leave a Reply

