A not quite cooking challenge update

This week I made some contemporary traditional English food. Not out of my recipe books but the From Paul Hollywood’s series Pies and Puds. The first was a Mutton Pie, this is a recipe that goes back to the middle ages in one form or another. I have never worked with a hot water crust before and it was a totally different experience, I will definitely be better at shaping next time.
DSC00725

DSC00727

Also made a sticky toffee pudding, another traditional British dish. They were both really, really good and I can’t wait to try them again. I am really looking forward to getting the hang of the hot water crust. Steve loves this time of year, The Great British Bake Off is back and that always inspires me in the kitchen. This week was bread week and I found out what I had been doing wrong for the garlic bread. I need to bake ciabatta not french bread for that airy rise.

Between the cool weather, the feast or famine rain and the rabbits, my garden has gone from doing well to done in. I am going to do some fall plantings but the whole yard looks tired and ready to pack it in for fall. I am not sure why but both Steve and I feel the same. We have been so lazy this summer. I have done a lot of knitting and reading and cooking and baking, but little else. Steve is painting the spare room to turn into a guest room but other than that it feels like an energy sucking machine has invaded the place since early July.

We watched a friends farm for 6 days a few weeks ago and that was great. Sheep and pigs and goats and chickens and ducks and rabbits. šŸ™‚ I love the sheep, I really, really love sheep. We did discover that ducks are dumb and we don’t much care for them. šŸ™‚ Today I am headed out to the farm for barn cleaning. Then this weekend is the craft fair, with heat indexes over 100F. We will see if anyone shows up.

This entry was posted in Bread Baking, Cooking & Baking, Gardening, Homesteading, Livestock, Rabbits, Seven Centuries of English Cooking Challenge, The Great British Bake Off and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A not quite cooking challenge update

  1. tess says:

    How did the craft fair go?

  2. shirehouse says:

    Not too badly actually. After booth costs and coffee I was only out $6. So I sold $40 of product. I was expecting worse but hoping for better. It was so hot my soap was sweating, which probably didn’t help matters. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

